Live, Laugh, Dance

Lately all I have been wanting to do is dance, whether that is in a discoteca, down the city street, or in my Sevillanas class.  Well today I got to dance!  My school brings in a local instructor and she works with any of the students who want to learn Sevillanas.  It’s a lot like Flamenco but focuses more on footwork, great news for someone with two left feet, not.  I think sometimes I have the heart of a dancer but my body does not always listen to the groovy moves that are playing in my mind.

Today I was the only one that showed up to the class so Sylvia let me dress up and we went super fast and she taught me a whole new section of the dance and we stayed past the hour class time.  It was quiet a workout and it was so much fun.  It is always a little awkward though because the dance room is in the front of the building and so a lot of the other students will walk past or will look in and see what we are doing and that is just about always when I miss a step.  But I love learning the Sevillanas, this is a big part of the local culture and it emphasizes confidence and hard work, a lot like any kind of dance.

fullsizerender-1

Music and dance is such an incredible and honest reflection of culture and emotion.  Today I also attended a night concert at the local palace for my Life and Culture class that starts in 3 weeks.  It was so incredible, the music was a blend of European and Arabic Medieval music and the performers used so many different instruments with ease.  It was so fantastic, I sat on the edge of my seat for the whole hour.  Today was really filled with perfect moments, those times that feel so perfect and surreal that you think this could even be in a movie because it is so perfect and then you try so hard to remember every little detail so you can remember this picture perfect moment.


Leave a comment